Oversight Committee

The oversight committee has ultimate responsibility for the 2nd Global Summit for Diamond Open Access with a particular focus on fundraising and the development of the programme.

The oversight committee has representation from:

  • University of Cape Town
  • Association of African Universities (AAU)
  • National Research Foundation (South Africa)
  • Redalyc/AmeliCA
  • Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO)
  • Open Access Australasia
  • Europe Science


Local Organising Committee

  • Danielle Abrahamse
  • Amina Adam
  • Brandon Adams
  • TJ Badrudeen
  • Jill Claassen
  • Jillian Clark
  • Randall Daniels
  • Nuroo Davids
  • Caroline Dean
  • Kaela De Lillie
  • Kim De Mink
  • Zaahier Eksteen
  • Jamie Hendricks
  • Heather Hodgson
  • Greg Jacobs
  • Glynnis Johnson
  • Sadiq Keraan
  • Thandokazi Maceba
  • Namhla Madini
  • Sai Maharaj
  • Patricia Makwambeni
  • Zandi Mkhwanazi
  • Niel Mostert
  • Itumeleng Mpofu
  • Philisa Mzuku
  • Ayanda Nyembezi
  • Ismail Oliver
  • Juanita Petersen
  • Dr Reggie Raju
  • Melissa Thomas
  • Andrea Walker
  • Russel Williams




  • University of Cape Town
  • National Research Foundation (South Africa)
  • Redalyc
  • Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD)
  • Gates Foundation
  • Community-led Open Publication  Infrastructures for Monographs (COPIM)
  • Arcadia Fund
  • MIT Libraries
  • Lyrasis
  • Open Book Collective


Key partners to the Summit

Several organisations are keen to continue with the engagement and probe into the advancement of diamond open access. There is acknowledgement and welcome for expansion in the number of lead organisations hosting the global summit.

  • Redalyc/AmeliCA
  • National Research Foundation (South Africa)
  • Association of African Universities (AAU)
  • University of Cape Town - Libraries and Department of Knowledge and Information Stewardship

The primary host will be the University of Cape Town.